Banff Bike Fest – That’s a Rap!

Posted: 19 June 2012 in Uncategorized

Was I looking for the jersey? Not really. Did I want Team H&R BLOCK to win Banff Bike Fest GC for 2012, most definitely! When it comes to good displays of team work, we hit it right on the nose… and with a sledge hammer.

Going into the weekend we knew Kris would be on some pretty good form, and with the aide of Craig, myself and Robin, we figured people would have to work damn hard for the win in the General Classification. 2 days out our team dropped to 3 guys. This is gonna hurt. Plan: Ride hard, ride smart, gain as much time at the Individual races, that we were in good shape for the mass start races. Kris squeeked out a nail biter finish with Mark McConnell (my cross racing prodigee) to get green and black filling the podium. Road Race was some what soft served with very few attacks and a sketchy peloton keen on keeping it together for the sprinters. Knowing the GC lead was within reach due to the finishing time bonuses. I got a flat half way through but thanks to the TCR car for keeping me in it, I was back on before the climbing started. Big thanks for Craig for keeping on the attacks. I managed to slug it out from way back to bike throw it for 2nd. We lost the GC lead, but knew the TT was going to shak things up a little bit, so we stayed calm.

TT came, Kris conquered. A full 30 seconds on anybody. Jaw dropping? I limped home dead as a fish upside down but managed to have a stronger time than last year by over 15 secs.

Crit: Escited about the new/old course? No. Was it as fun as I was expecting? Sure. Did we race well? (I made a judgement error towards the sprint finish and pulled back the wrong guy) We kept it together for the most part, but LG got the better of us fair and square, took home the win, and put Noah 10 secs closer in GC. 6 on 2? Chapeau.

But the Road Race is where the earthquake happened. Craters were formed, heads rolled, Alberta style. Group off the front half way through after catching Dave Girth who went solo for a couple laps. Peloton was uninterested in racing but really stopped to take in the nice mountain scenery. I decided to up it 2 km/hr and no one responded, until a group of 5 came rolling up and started getting antzy. I said, hold your pants on, party hasn’t started yet, they said your riding too slow, I said fine. And no one else came up, so the race started. Hats off to Shawn Bunnin, Gord Jewitt, and Nathan Underwood for doing most the work in the break, as once we got some time on the peloton, it went to 5 mins pretty quick.

All I had to do was make sure I didn’t get dropped. Pretty emotional day for myself with it being fathers day and all. Gave my dad a fathers day present he’ll never forget!

Banff is a magical place. Nuff Said.

NOW ON TO NATIONALS!

Comments
  1. Jeff B. says:

    Thanks for the write up, would have liked to have been there, especially in that break. Congrats.

Leave a Reply

