Ups and Downs and Everything in Between

Posted: 21 December 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I haven’t posted in a while with all that has happened in the last month. It’s been a whirl wind month at that, and events that have forever changed my life.

On my way back from winning the BC Provincial Cyclocross Championships race, I got a couple texts from family members telling me to call them immediately, it was urgent. So while waiting for the plane in the airport, I heard the news. My youngest brother had an accident. He hit his head while skiing and has been air lifted to Kelowna and my parents and younger brother were right away on a plane to Kelowna. Didn’t sound good, but I was holding out hope. The next day was when the world came crashing in. My little brother passed away on Monday the 28th of Nov 2011, just 1 day shy of his 21st birthday. I don’t know how to describe the feelings I’ve gone through, but I hope that the story of my little brother Will Schooler will never be forgotten.

In his memory, his friends and a small group in Edmonton have started a foundation to raise awareness for helmet use in all sports and the importance of protecting and taking care of your most important organ, your brain. The foundation is called i Will. We are selling stickers to go on helmets and sports equipment to show the support for this endeavour. With all the recent brain related injuries out there and talk of concussions, there is no better time than right now to initiate this. Please go to http://www.iwillfoundation.ca for more info

With all that has happened, and with 2 weekends of racing still on the books, I decided to call it a season for cyclocross and spend some time with family mourning the loss of my little brother.

With Christmas coming around the corner, I can’t wait to get back to training and into a regular rythm of working out, and forever forward will the memory of my little brother live on, and hopefully i Will can change the world of sport one brain at a time…

Comments
  1. Aaron says:

    I’m really sorry to hear about your loss. I’ll be sure to pass on the message to anyone I see who’s not wearing a helmet when they should.

  2. Troy Hudson says:

    Sorry to hear of your loss. Take his passion and continue doing what you do best. Best of luck in the 2012 season.

Leave a Reply

