Kickin off the Cross Season

Posted: 19 September 2009 in Uncategorized
So it’s been a while since my last blog, and I figured with all the racing going on this weekend, that it would be a perfect time to give you an update of how things are going.
 
It’s really great to be part of Team H&R Block-Kona, with the great support and focus of the team in the long term, it provides for some great prep going into the cross season.  We are also sponsored heavily by Kona, which is a huge jump in the cross area for me.  Kona is the North American Industry leader when it comes to cross bikes and I definitely felt it my first couple weeks of training on my 2 new Major Jakes!  They handle like a charm, an are the lightest bikes I’ve been on yet!  Plus you can’t complain about the custom H&R team colours!  Also thanks to OGC for hooking me up with all the shwag, parts and accessories I need!
 
Now it’s time to get down to business…  With the first race only hours away, I’m excited and nervous all in one.  Managed to hang out with Helen Wyman on Thursday to do some cross skills in a park in Portland.  Then headed up to pre-ride the course yesterday, and damn is it ever bumpy!  It poored all night and this morning, and luckily I was able to finish glueing up my muds at about 12 last night!  Although I highly doubt i’ll be needing them today, it tends to dry up pretty quick.
 
Anyways, off to do a spin.  Hopefully racing in the dark will help me a bunch!
 
School-er
Leave a Reply

